Ottawa Community Board in action

Our Ottawa Community Board has donated $6.9 million since 2005 to 495 grassroots projects, charities and organizations.

How we made a difference in 2020


Budget allocated


Local charities

Manjit Basi (Chair)

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Synapcity

Manjit Basi is a sought after entrepreneur and paradigm shifter who uses ontology, narrative coaching and integrative development to create personal and systemic change across organizational and sector boundaries.  A self-described “shift” disturber with a quirky brain that’s secretly run by a generous heart, Manjit believes in creating spaces for inquiry into how people and organizations create a sustainable and shared vision. By combining her business experience with her understanding of human and system dynamics, she is uniquely positioned to drive meaningful personal and organizational change. 

From 1987 to 2008, Manjit focused her talents as a franchisee and owned 4 locations of The Body Shop where she learned that business was, and still is, a tool for good in the world. Her passion for purpose drove her to co-found Synapcity, a not-for-profit social enterprise dedicated to breaking silos, creating engagement and citizen centered communities. Most recently, Manjit launched a bespoke artisanal skin care line made with custom botanical infusions in collaboration with small-scale ethical producers and local artists.

Manjit is a recognized community champion having served on the boards of various key organizations in Ottawa including the Immigrant Women Services Ottawa, the Rideau-Rockcliffe Community Resource Centre, and the Ottawa Community Foundation. Manjit currently serves as Chair of the Harry P. Ward Foundation, helping community-based organizations in the greater Ottawa area serving the homeless, women and children, the elderly, people with disabilities and those focusing on animal welfare. She enjoys mentoring homeless youth and working with social enterprises including Incubator 13 supporting youth from vulnerable populations to step into their entrepreneurial journey. 

Manjit continues to be a trailblazer in social entrepreneurism and “business as unusual”, leaning into organizations where purpose, people, planet, and profits collectively thrive.

Peter Green (Vice Chair)

Regional Vice President, Sales, TELUS

Charles Bordeleau

Former Chief of Police, Ottawa Police Service

Melissa Day

Senior Community Affairs Manager, TELUS

Tom Donohue

Retired Chaplin, The Ottawa Mission and President, TELUS Community Ambassador Club - Ottawa

Kathryn Hughes

National Lead, Government & Stakeholder Relations, TELUS

Kim Miller

Senior Regulatory Legal Counsel, TELUS  (Board Secretary)

Alex Munter

President & CEO, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Caroline Phillips

Social Correspondent, Ottawa Business Journal

Denise Siele

Principal, TACTIX

Patrick Twagirayezu

Lawyer, Emond Harnden

Get funded

If your community initiative meets our funding criteria, it may be eligible for funding. Share it with us.